About Me

Hello! Welcome to Hayley Stitches!

I’m Hayley. 28 years old. Coffee drinker. Sometimes untidy. Always impatient. Lipstick enthusiast. Foodie. Camera shy. Perfectionist. In my little corner of the internet I’ll be documenting my adventures as a novice dressmaker.

You can read more about why I started dressmaking, and why I started this blog in my first post. For those of you who want the headlines, here are my vital statistics…

Location: West Yorkshire

Occupation: Business Development Manager for a local charity and its social enterprise business

Are you married? Nope

Any kids? No thanks!

How about pets? Yep! I have 2 British shorthair cats, Lola and Betsey. You can expect to see them around these parts from time to time probably daily.

How long have you been sewing? On and off (mostly off) since I learned the very basics at school, but I was properly bitten by the bug in summer 2016.

What sewing machine do you use? I have a Brother AE1700. It’s pretty basic, but it does the trick.

What else do you do? If you read my first post you’ll know that I’ve tried my hand at many, many hobbies over the years. Right now I’m trying to focus on sewing, but when I’m not doing that I like cooking, I read a lot of mind-numbing chick lit, and I’m addicted to watching old episodes of Grey’s Anatomy. I enjoy/tolerate the occasional spinning class to combat the love of cooking (read eating). In the warmer months, I like the odd bit of gardening. Not hard labour type gardening, like lawn mowing, you understand. Prancing around in a sundress and jazzy wellies and putting pretty things in colourful pots is much more my bag. If I’m not doing any of that, you’ll probably find me on the couch, watching a box set, accompanied by a cat or two.